
Twitter is in the process of making its algorithmic timeline opt-out, rather than opt-in, as the social network continues its push to appeal to new users.
The move comes a little over a month after Twitter first announced the new feature, which surfaces the most interesting and popular tweets at the top of a userβs timeline, rather than showing them in reverse-chronological order as has been the case since the platformβs inception a decade ago. The new feed is basically an extension of Twitterβs existing βwhile you were awayβΒ feature, and is designed to make Twitter more appealing to new or infrequent users.
While opt-in was used to garner more feedback from power users and those who care enough to activate the feature, Twitter was always clear about its intentions to make this a default feature, so todayβs move should not come as a surprise. Most people who are now seeing the feature switched on will be greeted with a message like this:

Above: Never Miss a Tweet
And they can tap on their settings to untick the βShow me the best Tweets firstβ box.

Above: Opt-out
However, some reports suggest that not everyone is seeing this message, with the feature being turned on without any warning. A VentureBeat colleague told me that they did see the message at the top of their timeline a month or so ago when the feature was first rolled out, and they clicked on the βChange my Settingsβ link within it to double-check that they definitely hadnβt been opted in (which they hadnβt been). However, as of today, the βShow me the best Tweets firstβ box was enabled for them, without any kind of repeat message or warning appearing in their timeline.
VentureBeat has reached out to Twitter for clarification on this, and whether there could be some instances where a user may not receive a pop-up message informing them that the algorithmic timeline is now on by default.
At any rate, Twitterβs new timeline is a move towards the Facebook way of doing things, while Instagram too will soon be following suit. One consolation in Twitterβs case is that you can still opt-out β itβs clearly trying to cater for the millions of people who like things as they are, while also trying to hook new users on board.
[Via The Next Web]